The stuff they don’t teach you in class…..

I had a student cry today.  She was discouraged, once again. This lovely lady has had her share of horrible experiences in her life; the worst being that she was hit by a car while walking across the street.  She not only deals with physical pain constantly but also deals with memory loss and when you’re trying to learn a new language, that’s not a good thing.

How do i help her?  I’m new at this…….. what do i know?  We never covered this at Fanshawe College! So, I’ve tried a few things; first of all,  I follow my instincts.  I don’t call on her for answers out loud to save her embarrassment.  I pair her with the brightest student in the class when we work in pairs.  I sit beside her and help her through lessons when the others are doing seat work.  I encourage her when she gives a right answer.

Will she ever be able to become the college graduate that she desires to be?  I have my doubts but I’m not telling her that.  She’s one of the bravest people i know.  I will encourage her to do her best and be the person she can be.  That’s just instinct, too…….. oh, the stuff they don’t teach you in class…..

5 responses to “The stuff they don’t teach you in class…..

  1. You are an extraordinary teacher with a very special heart for others!!

  2. So proud of you! How lucky for your student to be taught by one of the bravest people I know!! Love you.

  3. God is showing you how to teach ‘outside the box’ ! You’re an amazing teacher Karen, with a heart for compassion and making a difference in the lives of others. Be blessed– I know I am, to have you as a friend.

  4. My heart goes out to that lady, what a struggle she must be having. How lucky is she to have you as her teacher, such compassion you have for her. I know you will make a big difference in her life.

  5. You sound like an extraordinary instructor. I am so proud.
    Samson ate honey from a lion’s rotten body. There is sweetness whenever we put God in the mix. Dad

Leave a Reply

