I’m playing softball… what?

So, this guy in my office asked my husband and i to be on the softball team this summer.  Now remember, this was March and summer was a long way off.  I immediately said, “Sure!” and informed my husband we’d be playing.  now remember, i’m 45, haven’t played softball on a team since 1981 for our little church league and i’m afraid of the ball hitting me in the face.

Saturday was the first game.  I had heard the weather prediction of rain and asked “Coach” if we’d be still be playing.  Yup, we would be.  so, i got up and made pancakes to give us some energy, checked the weather forcast….. 8 degrees C,  feels like -1C, wind gusts up to 67 km/hr and rain/snow mix.  “Great fun!”, i thought and put on 3 layers to keep warm.

I don’t have to tell you that the weather stunk!  Our team even lost badly to the other team – which i still think is stacked for the summer with ex-professional London Major’s Baseball players.  BUT………..  i hit the ball and ran like a wild woman to 1st base pulling a gluteus muscle  and just as i touched it heard the ump yell “Foul” which meant i was out……..  i missed a play at second base which put me into the pea gravel and got me all dirty……. AND… i actually CAUGHT the ball which got someone out at 2nd!!!  YAY me!

Yes, we lost but I’ve never forgotten the motto posted in my jr. high school gym,

For when the One Great Scorer comes
To write against your name,
He marks-not that you won or lost-
But how you played the game.  –Grantland Rice

I had fun! thank-you.  Next game Friday night at 6:30………..

3 responses to “I’m playing softball… what?

  1. yaay Karen !! I’m so proud of you !!!!

  2. JernegoScoolo

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

