the end of an era

i got a call from my mom the other night.  She told me that they’ve decided to sell their travel trailer.  i was taken back by this comment because they had just talked about taking it on a trip south.  but my dad has gotten word that his health isn’t 100% and he shouldn’t be doing “trailer stuff”.  My mom sounded quite optimistic about this decision and when i asked her about it, she said she is happy with it.

i thought i was fine with it, as well.  I mean, it doesn’t affect me in the least.  I don’t camp with them anymore.   but then i started to feel a bit melancholy.  last year my dad got rid of his row boat and now the trailer…. why is it that in a way, i feel sad….. like my childhood, although long gone……… is fading away………..

See full size image   See full size image

3 responses to “the end of an era

  1. I’ve been there, Suzy when my parents sold their fifth wheel trailer. I just pray that that is where the similarity ends That’s all I can say. 🙂

  2. Hearing this news was rough for my children. They have seen it as an end of an era. They did still camp with their Grandparents and always looked forward to campfire stories with Grandpa and smores with Grandma. They now realize that this time in their lives is over. Not an easy day in our household to say the least.

Leave a Reply

