Music……

Music is a very vital part of my life.  My mom says that when i was born, i was not crying but making a ‘coo-ing’ noise. The dr. said, “she’s going to be a singer” and he was right.  I also play piano and i was a clarinetist in jr. high and high school…….   When i’m happy, i like to hear music, when i’m down, i like to hear music.  Music is in my head, it’s in my soul; it’s a part of me.  I was at music rehearsal last night for church on Sunday and it was a blast!  An “old lady” playing instruments in a band with guys 15 years younger than her.  Pretty fun!

So why this sudden need to share this love of music with my readers?  because i keep hearing how in Haiti, a place where there is all out chaos and saddness, when all is quiet, people are singing.  Singing?  what?  you’ve lost your house, your livelihood, your family; everything you have and you do what?  you sing?  Does that seem crazy to you?  It doesn’t to me.  somehow the act of singing and making music can be calming.  Think about when a mother sings her baby to sleep.  when my son was small, he had to have stitches put in his forehead due to an accident.  He was very upset while he lay on the hospital bed with drs. and nurses standing around him.  After many minutes of fighting them he said to me, “Mommy, sing to me” so i did. Within 5 minutes he was asleep.  The nurses were amazed that he feel asleep so quickly; i wasn’t.  the comforting power of music was put into practice.

I love this quote by Mark Twain: “Dance like no one is watching. Sing like no one is listening. Love like you’ve never been hurt and live like it’s heaven on Earth.”  But you say, “I can’t sing.” who cares?  Who says you can’t sing?….. sing, sing loud and sing strong!  I say sing anyway!  Let music fill your soul and see how you feel then!

6 responses to “Music……

  1. Sing Jesus Loves Me! (says little Jonathan)
    You put a song in my heart my love! (says Dale)
    I love that you love to sing!! It makes me want to sing too.

  2. I sing when I think no one is listening, and once in a while someone hears me, but I don’t really care!!!!!

  3. Another great reminder of what is important, to sing. My love for music is much the same but I add a little dance now and again just to embarrass my children and see them laugh. (at me)

  4. A Christmas ornament we got a few years back says it well:
    “God gave us music that we might pray without words.”
    ~c

  5. wow!!! thats exactly how i feel about music. when iam sad it makes me glad. some times it just helps me get thru. music is a major part of many good times and memories for me. thanks for the blog suzy penny!!

Leave a Reply

