“I Used to Hate Exercise” or “I actually Like the Gym”….now….

in the fall of 2008, i decided it was time to take the plunge and join a gym.  i have never been a fan of exercise so agreeing to a one year contract to go to the gym was a step of stupidity…. i hate wasting money; wasn’t even sure i could make it 2 months.  but i went faithfully and found that i actually like it.

in that 1st  year i tried several different things…. i tried to train for a 5k…. wrecked my knees the first month and gave up.  i tried to strengthen my abs (i know they’re there somewhere) and didn’t see any progress so i cut back.  i tried to burn 1500 calories per elliptical session….. didn’t see my weight go down so i ditched that idea. (might have something to do with my chocolate passions)…. or maybe i’m easily discouraged?

so this year i’ve moved onto something new…… My goal for the summer of  ’10 is to have kickin’  hot arms!  Now THIS i think i can do.  I went on-line and found some exercises to give me arms like Jillian on The Biggest Loser…. ever seen her arms?  THAT’S what i want… arms like hers.  I started with 5 pound weights.  Child’s play!  i then stepped it up to 10 pounds… yup, gave me some challenge so i stuck with those…. until they became tooo light. (am i the same person that bawked at the gym only 2 years ago?)  so now i’m up to 12.5 pound weights.  3 days a week, 4 different exercises, 20 reps on each arm.

I would like to challenge my readers today to try something new.  don’t call it a “resolution”  and certainly don’t tell anyone about it until you’ve tried it enough times that you know you like it.  I told too many people about my 5k training and then felt stupid when  they would ask how the training was going and i had to say, “Yeah, wrecked my knees… it’s not gonna happen.”  maybe your new thing is: cooking, or fixing your car or painting or writing a blog (yeah, think i’ve already broken my rule about not telling anyone 🙂 ).  But do something fun!  i never thought i’d like the gym OR weight lifting for that matter…. and i do!

Now if i can just get over my passion for chocolate i might see the scales go down…  ok, on second thought, Nah!

8 responses to ““I Used to Hate Exercise” or “I actually Like the Gym”….now….

  1. You truly are a gifted writer! Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I am the opposite of you. I used to love working out with weights and cardio. I worked out at least 5 times a week, inbetween my 2 jobs at the bookstore and hair salon at home with Kathy Smith videos. I had so much energy and I was so thin (I constantly thought I was too fat though. I look at pictures of myself then and realize I was too skinny)
    Now I do not work out at all and I look in the mirror and I know I am way too big. Funny that I was so motivated in my 30’s when I didn’t need to workout but now that I need it I am not so motivated.
    I do know that muscle has memory so I’m hoping that these muscles of mine have a very good memory when I do start working out again…this year!
    Can’t wait to see your arm muscles this summer!

  3. I feel like you’re here at New Hope again and we are having our little chats, you’re so real and honest. Can’t wait to see those arms! We could try giving up chocolate together but….. really we both know we wouldn’t stick with it.

  4. I’m doing push ups on the kitchen counter. Do you think that will get me anywhere?

Leave a Reply

